Golden Trowel

Golden Trowel recipients can be seen in the kitchens preparing a meal for our meetings, laboring on the lodge’s various committees, serving in public office, volunteering on community projects, leading in service clubs, and they are often heavily involved in their church activities and in schools – basically anywhere that a true and steady hand of assistance is needed. These are men who always step forward to fill roles that are often thankless but vital to the success of programs that enrich the Cedar Hill community as a whole.

Golden Trowel Awards do not come easily. First, three of the previous five past masters of Cedar Hill Lodge(Golden Trowel Committee) must agree and recommend a brother as a worthy recipient. Any nominees for the award must be provided to the Golden Trowel Committee in writing prior to August 30 of any given year. Sometimes, no one qualifies for the award so no recommendation is made but when a masonic career reaches a point of distinction and the brother is recommended at a meeting by the Golden Trowel Committee, members present vote on whether or not to present the award. If the membership votes in favor, an open meeting of the lodge is then held to honor the new awardee and all of his friends and family members are invited to join the lodge in its meeting hall to spend an evening in celebration.

Below are the members of Cedar Hill Lodge who received the Golden Trowel. 

Milford J. Mays 6/11/1990

Thomas W. Cannady 6/23/1991 

Carol D. Bohannan 6/23/1992 

George W. Pope 6/23/1993 

Gerald W. O’Neal 6/23/1997 

Robert E. Head, Sr. 6/23/1998 

James F. Mobley 6/23/1999 

Vaughn T. Pogue 6/23/1999 

Cale Clark Stephenson 6/23/2003 

Anthony A. Peniston 6/23/2004 

Johnny L. Roberson 12/22/2008 

Jeff D. Harper 3/19/2010 

Charles R. Sims 4/16/2012